Backing Up

Backing Up

Once you have the correct cameras and the correct recorder all set up as they should be and storing all the footage as required, the next important thing to cover is actually getting those video clips off the recorder in the event of an incident.

There are several ways that backups from recorders can be carried out – predominantly this is either onto a USB stick connected directly to the DVR or onto the hard drive of your computer when connected over the internet or network. Some systems also allow backup of footage onto a cell phone however this tends to be a much lower quality backup.

Whatever way your recorder backs the footage up, you need to make sure that the files produced are of a standard file type and that they can be replayed quickly and easily by either yourself or law enforcement agencies. If the footage can’t be played back, it’s essentially useless!

When backing up footage, the biggest mistake people make is to attempt the backup of a week of footage from all the cameras on the system. Assuming 4 cameras, this could be as much as 600GB of footage which not only will take a long time but is then almost entirely unmanageable once the backup is complete. What should be done is to take small segments of footage – perhaps just a few minutes at a time from the key cameras showing the event. This can then be used to identify the culprit or cause of the incident.

In the past, a lot of recorders would come with a CD or DVD burner drive to store the footage straight onto a CD/DVD. Now USB is the quickest and easiest way to backup footage as well as generally having a greater capacity limit.

The security camera recorders that we sell here at Orange Security all backup to standard file types, however if you have any issues, out support team are always there to help.

One great bit of advice is that when setting up, you really should attempt to backup a small snippet of footage from each camera to ensure it’s working as required.

BackNext

Save & Share Cart
Your Shopping Cart will be saved and you'll be given a link. You, or anyone with the link, can use it to retrieve your Cart at any time.
Back Save & Share Cart
Your Shopping Cart will be saved with Product pictures and information, and Cart Totals. Then send it to yourself, or a friend, with a link to retrieve it at any time.
Your cart email sent successfully :)